Inviting and Managing Users

SourceClear Software Composition Analysis

Invite Users to Organization or Workspace

Organization Users with the Workspace Administrator role can do the same for the workspaces they manage.

Method 1: Manage Organization List

Invite users to your organization and optionally promote them to Organization Owners or Organization Administrators.

  1. Navigate to Manage Organization.
  2. Click Users in the left navigation bar.
  3. Click Actions > Invite.
  4. Enter email addresses.
  5. Optional: Click More Options.
    1. Choose a user role for each user. By default, new users are invited as Organization Users.
  6. Click Invite.

Method 2: Workspace Invitation

Invite Organization Users directly to an existing workspace with the optional Workspace Administrator role.

  1. Navigate to a workspace.
  2. Click Invite.
  3. Enter email addresses.
  4. Click Add.
  5. The email addresses will move to a list at the bottom of the dialog.
  6. Optional: In the list below, select Workspace Administrator for any users who should have the Workspace Administrator role for the workspace.
  7. Click Invite.
  8. If a user already exists in the organization, no invitation is sent and the user is automatically added to the workspace.

Method 2a: Workspace invitation during creation

Create a workspace and invite Organization Users with the optional Workspace Administrator role all in one step.

  1. Navigate to the Home space.
  2. Click the plus (+) icon at the top of the left navigation bar.
  3. Enter a workspace name.
  4. Click More Options.
  5. Enter email addresses.
  6. Click Add.
  7. The email addresses will move to a list at the bottom of the dialog.
  8. Optional: In the list below, check Workspace Admin for any users who should have the Workspace Administrator role for the workspace.
  9. Click Create.
  10. If a user already exists in the organization, no invitation is sent and the user is automatically added to the new workspace.

Once invitations are sent, invitees receive an email with an invitation link. Invitees must complete the account creation process by clicking on the link within 72 hours and following the instructions.

Inviting Users with SAML

To set up SAML for your organization, please see Setting up SAML for more information.

To invite users through SAML there are 2 methods.

Method 1: Just in time provisioning

Once a user is enabled for SourceClear through your chosen IdP, just in time provisioning is used to create the account. The user will simply need to launch SourceClear through the IdP and the user account will be created. This user will have access to no Workspaces by default so a Workspace Administrator, Organization Administrator, or Organization Owner will need to add them to the relevant teams and workspaces.

Method 2: Invite Email

A user can be invited to SourceClear through the non-SAML user-invite processes. An email will be sent to the user allowing them to sign up. The user will still need to be enabled for SourceClear through your chosen IdP as the authentication will be routed through it.

If a user is sent multiple invitations, the highest user role will be applied when the sign-up process is complete. They also automatically accept all the invitations when signing up.

Pending Invitation

Invitees who have not completed the account creation process are shown in the Pending Invitations list.

  1. Organization Owners and Organization Administrators can see all pending invitations in the system in the Manage Organization area.
  2. Navigate to Manage Organization.
  3. Click Users in the left navigation bar.
  4. Click Pending Invitations at the top of the page.

Organization Owners, Organization Administrators, and Organization Users with the Workspace Administrator role can view pending invitations in the workspaces they manage.

  1. Navigate to a workspace under the Home space.
  2. Click on Users in the left navigation bar under the Manage Workspace section.
  3. Click Pending Invitations at the top of the page.

All invitations for an invitee are collected on one row. Anyone who can see the Pending Invitations section can resend or revoke invitations.

Expired Invitations

Invitations expire in 72 hours. If the invitee clicks on the invitation link in the email, the system displays an error.

Resend Invitation

If the invitee has not accepted an invitation, or the invitation has expired, you can resend the original invitation, which is valid for another 72 hours.

Revoke Invitation

An invitation may have been sent in error, and the invitee should not actually gain access to the organization, team, or workspace to which he or she was invited.

In that case, you can revoke the pending invitation. This action clears the pending invitation from the list and displays an error page if users click on the link in any invitation emails they received and have not yet accepted.

Accept Invitation

Invitees receive a separate email for invitations to the organization level, each workspace, and each team. All pending invitations for an invitee are collected together so that when the invitee accepts one invitation, all pending invitations for that new user are applied. The invitee does not need to find and click on every individual invitation link.